Pursuit

Happy Monday!

As some of you may know, I picked up hand lettering over the summer and it has been my newest crazy obsession. Lately, I’ve been especially busy with custom lettering orders as I’m fundraising for an ISL trip coming up in the spring, but hey I’m not complaining.

The cool thing about custom orders is that I have no idea what people will ask of me. I never thought it would turn into this, but doing lettering orders has definitely been a learning experience. Not only does completing orders allow me to refine my lettering style and work on my skill, but I’ve also gained new exposure to a lot of good quotes and Bible verses. More importantly, I’ve had to scribble so many thumbnails, sketch so many drafts, and erase and rewrite so many times that these verses and quotes have become internalized in my mind.

Lettering is also a means of meditation for me. When I letter my orders, I have plenty of time to think about what I’m writing about, what value it holds, and what it could mean in the context of my life. So this post is hopefully the start of a fun series where I’ll be sharing a piece I’ve done as well as my personal reflection on it.

So…yeah. Let’s go ahead and get started!
img_4210

Look for Christ, and you will find Him. And with Him, everything else.

-C.S. Lewis

When a good friend of mine asked me to letter this quote, I was really excited to do so because 1.) everyone knows C.S. Lewis is pretty much the best, and 2.) I found this quote to be applicable to life, especially as a college student.

I know that at least for me, I dedicate a good majority of my time as a Biology major hunkered down in my room over Organic Chemistry or Genetics textbooks. I spend so much of myself on my work that if and when I’m not careful, it draws me away from what, or rather Who, is truly important. God shouldn’t be an afterthought or a second resort, and sometimes I get so caught up with my pursuits in my future career path or in other things that I forget that.

Yesterday at church, our pastor talked about how the things of this earth will fade, but heavenly things will remain forever. I need to be reminded constantly that my pursuit of God’s face is the most important thing I will ever do because it is everlasting. And when I choose to find Him first and choose to prioritize Him over everything else, everything else will fall into place.


Want a print? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

