Healing

He said, ‘If you will listen carefully to the voice of the Lord your God and do what is right in his sight, obeying his commands and keeping all his decrees, then I will not make you suffer any of the diseases I sent on the Egyptians; for I am the Lord who heals you.’ Exodus 15:26 (NLT)

When I heard this verse maybe a month or so ago at church, I knew it was something that would definitely end up in my lettering journal. I forget why this particular verse was mentioned, but nevertheless, it resonated in me and I just had to put it out there. At around that same time, I had just learned how to draw a floral wreath from my favorite IG letterer and decided that this verse would be a great place to practice my newly acquired skill:

IMG_4176.JPG

After this print circulated social media for awhile, my mom contacted me and told me someone wanted two of these prints for her daughter, flower wreaths and all. I will admit that I was slightly confused; of all the verses in the Bible, why would someone choose that verse? I just went with it and still was skeptical until my mom clarified the situation for me.

The person that placed this order wanted two copies of this print for her daughter. One copy would be for her daughter, B (I feel so bad–I know her name starts with B, but I don’t remember what her name is!!), and the other for B’s friend Olivia. B and Olivia are both nine years old. B picked this print out herself because Olivia is currently battling osteosarcoma. She wanted this print to remind her and Olivia both that God can heal anything, even Olivia’s bone cancer.

So lettering these pieces was a really humbling experience. I find myself still in a state of admiration when I think about just how much faith B and Olivia have. For this, I look up to these girls who are demonstrating what unwavering faith in the midst of challenging circumstances looks like. And as for Olivia, I know that God has already used her story and will continue using it to shape the lives of many. I know she has shaped mine.

IMG_4438.JPG

And lastly, I ask that if you’ve gotten this far in the post, could you join me in praying for Olivia and for God to bring complete healing to her body? That would mean the world.

2 thoughts on “Healing

Leave a Reply

